Skip to main content
Firearms Permits

Permit to CarryWeapons Permits

Gun Permit Applicant

Please be advised that per the Code of Iowa a background check will be conducted on ALL APPLICANTS. This includes a check of the Mental Health/Substance Abuse Records, Criminal Records and a NCIC check. You must apply in person and have an approved Government Photo ID along with proof of residency with you when you apply.

When you come into the Sheriff's Office the following items will be required:

  • Current Photo ID
  • Small arms training certificate
  • If applicable – Photocopy of DD Form 214 showing honorable or general discharge under honorable conditions from military service
  • Original signature on permit
  • Cash or Check - No Credit Cards

Fees will apply to the following:

  • New Permit - $50.00
  • Renewal - $25.00
  • Duplicate - $25.00

Information on Permits to Carry Weapons

The Carroll County Sheriff's Office will be accepting applications for the new Permit to Carry Weapons during the following time periods: between 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday, except Holidays.

Applicants will need to bring the following items with them when they apply:

  • Iowa photo ID - Must have current address
  • Military DD214 or NRA Approved Training Certificate
  • Completed application form

The cost is $50.00 for a five (5) year permit. The application form is available at the Carroll County Sherriff's Office or online at Iowa Application for Permit to Carry Weapons

Permits to Acquire or Purchase Weapons:

Permits are issued in person only, Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. A valid Iowa driver's license is required. For more information, please call 712-792-4393 option 1.  A background check must be conducted and there is a seven (7) day waiting period before the permit can be picked up.  The cost is $25.00 and is valid for one (1) year.

The Sheriff of your county of residence is the only person who is authorized to issue permits unless you are a non-resident of Iowa or require a permit as a result of your employment by the State of Iowa, in which case, the Commissioner of the Iowa Department of Public Safety can issue Permits to Carry.

Permit to Acquire Pistols or Revolvers: A Permit to Acquire authorizes the holder to acquire pistols and revolvers and long guns; however, this does not authorize the holder to carry a weapon. An Iowa Permit to Acquire pistols and revolvers shall be valid three (3) days after the date of application and is valid for 5 years after the date of application (Code of Iowa, Section 724.20). It is valid throughout the state.

Updated Carry Weapons Permit Information

New HF756 Permit to Carry Law
Click on this link to learn more about the new permit to carry law that Governor Reynolds signed HF756 into law on April 2, 2021.

In April 2010, SF2379 was signed into law. This legislation significantly changes the laws that govern the issuance of permits to carry weapons in the State of Iowa. These changes were implemented January 1, 2011. Existing permits remain valid until the expiration date printed on the permit. While the new law makes many changes (which are summarized at the bottom of this page), many provisions remained the same. The following is only a summary of the laws. If you have questions, you should review the law, contact your attorney, or ask the Sheriff.


All applicants for a permit to carry must demonstrate knowledge of proper firearms handling through:

  •  a handgun safety course available to the public and offered by law enforcement, community college, college, private or public institutions or organizations, or firearms training school utilizing instructors certified by DPS equivalent in another state, or the NRA.
  •  a handgun safety training course offered for security guards, investigators, special deputies, or any division or subdivision of a law enforcement or security enforcement agency approved by DPS.
  •  an NRA handgun safety training course
  •  a Law Enforcement handgun safety training course
  •  small arms training in the U.S. Armed forces
  •  peace officer certification that has occurred within the year prior to the application or expiration of a current permit.

Be wary of instruction unless it is verified that the instructor(s) is properly trained and certified and that the class contains adequate information to meet the training requirements. Some training classes may be denied.  If in doubt, please verify the eligibility through the Sheriff's office first.

While the permit will not be limited to particular weapons, it is important that a permit holder be competent to handle each weapon that is planned to be carried. A responsible trainer will be able to test your abilities with each weapon.

It is recommended that applicants complete training through individuals that have provided his/her training instructor certificate to this Sheriff's Office. Other programs may be questionable which may delay, or prevent, issuance of a permit.


Applications are made on forms provided by the Sheriff's Office, and must include proof of training and a valid photo I.D. issued by the state DOT. Upon submission, the necessary background checks will be conducted by the Sheriff, which may take up to 30 days to process. Permits are $50 for new applications, $25 for renewals and are valid for five years.  You have 30 days before and after expiration for renewal for the $25, if outside the 30 day range it will be $50.  These fees include a drivers license type of permit which withstands most wear and tear.  It will be issued by the state and takes approximately two weeks to receive.  It will come in a plain envelope like your drivers license.  

A person is not eligible for a permit if the applicant:

  •  is younger than 21 years of age
  •  is addicted to alcohol
  •  is believed to have committed an act(s) during the previous two years that leads the Sheriff to believe the applicant is likely to use a weapon unlawfully or in a manner to endanger the person's self or others
  •  has within the past three years been convicted of assault, harassment, hazing, stalking or other chapter 708 crime(s), except simple misdemeanors.
  •  is prohibited from possessing a weapon by federal law because the applicant is:
    • charged or convicted of an aggravated misdemeanor or felony.
    • a fugitive from justice.
    • a user of depressants, narcotics, or drugs.
    • a person adjudicated mentally impaired or committed to a mental treatment institution.
    • not a citizen of the United States.
    • dishonorably discharged from military service.
    • convicted of misdemeanor domestic violence.

Types of Weapons

A permit to carry allows a person to carry "dangerous weapons," which is an instrument or device designed primarily for use in inflicting death or injury on persons or animals or is capable of or used in such a manner as to inflict death upon persons. This generally includes handguns, rifles, shot guns, Taser-type devices, and knives with blades longer than five inches. The permit does not allow a person to carry "offensive weapons" which are things like machine guns, short-barreled rifles or shot guns, weapons with a barrel length larger than 6/10 of an inch, bombs, grenades, mines, rockets, missiles, ballistic knives, flamethrowers or silencers.

Permits to Acquire

A person holding a permit to carry need not obtain a separate permit to acquire.


Permits are not valid when a person is under the influence or intoxicated by alcohol or drugs, or when there are any drugs in the person's system. Many drugs remain in the body up to 30 days after ingestion.

Permits do not authorize the permit holder to carry a weapon in certain places. This includes:

  • on school property
  • parks
  • all federal buildings
  • most State and local government buildings and property
  • airports
  • any place where the owner forbids the possession of a weapon

A private property owner or business is entitled to ban weapons from their premises, and may legally ask you to remove a weapon from their premise even if you have a valid permit. Also note that bringing a weapon into some businesses (i.e. convenience stores, banks) may invite a police response due to the nature of the business conducted or an employee's concerns for their safety and the safety of their patrons.

Recognition of Permit

Permits in other states are recognized as valid; however, an Iowa permit is not necessarily recognized by other states. If travel is anticipated, it is wise to check the laws of the other jurisdictions to determine if an Iowa permit is recognized.

Suspension/Revocation of Permit

Violation of the terms of the permit or the occurrence of an event that makes a person ineligible for a permit (i.e., arrest for a disqualifying offense or act that causes the Sheriff to believe the permit holder may use a weapon unlawfully or in a manner to endanger the person's self or others) will result in suspension of the permit until disposition of the matter, at which time the permit will be revoked unless due to acquittal the permit may be re-instated. The Sheriff may conduct periodic checks to determine if suspension or revocation is appropriate.

Other Considerations

Weapons require a great deal of responsibility. It is important to safeguard a weapon so that it is not stolen or used against you. Most importantly, a permit to carry does not authorize a person to use a weapon in most circumstances. The law is very precise about when such force is justified. Guidance on that issue should be covered during your training. It is also important to note that even if use of a weapon is justified, it often may not be the wisest course of action, and may carry criminal and/or civil consequences.

Handgun Permit Renewal Process

Renewal Process 1

  • Attend a refresher course (about 1-2 hours)
  • File your renewal paperwork with your score not less than 30 days prior to expiration
  • Pay $25 dollars at the Sheriff's Office

Renewal Process 2

  • Qualification on a range
  • File your renewal paperwork with your score, not less than 30 days prior to expiration
  • Pay $25 dollars at the Sheriff's Office

Renewal Process 3

If you miss the 30 day deadline you will need to do the following

  • Apply as a new applicant showing proof of training
  • Pay $50.00 at the Sheriff's Office

The following training can be accepted:

  • Certified I.L.E.A. Firearms Instructor (Comparable out of state instructor)
  • Certified N.R.A. Handgun Safety Instructor
  • Special authorization from DPS
  • Small arms training provided by US Armed Forces

Training Time Frame

  • A new applicant simply has to show he/she has completed training by one of the approved instructors.
  • Training must have occurred in the last 12 Months for a renewal

    114 E 6th St
    Carroll, IA 51401

    Phone: (712) 792-4393

    Emergency: 9-1-1

    Office Hours:
    Monday - Friday
    8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

    Ken Pingrey